Interview & Giveaway with ARROWS author Melissa Gorzelanczyk

It's week two of our Summer 2016 Guest Buccaneer author takeover and today we have the ever lovely Melissa Gorzelanczyk, author of ARROWS here on the blog!

I haven't had the chance to read ARROWS yet, but I did have the opportunity to meet Melissa in person when we both attended the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando this past June -- and can I just say, I absolutely A-DORED her!!!

A little about Melissa:

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. Her young adult novel ARROWS is available now from Delacorte Press, a division of Penguin Random House. She is represented by agent Carrie Howland of Donadio & Olson. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Find out more about Melissa and connect with her online at: www.MelissaGorzelanczyk.com and Twitter: @MelissaGorzela


Synopsis of Arrows:

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn’t reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny–perfect for fans of Katie McGarry’s novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.


Erin L. Schneider (Captain E. Hook): What was a favorite scene or moment in ARROWS for you to write? And what brought the biggest challenge?

Melissa Gorzelanczyk: My absolute favorite scene is near the end of the book and is all about becoming the person you always knew you could be. Without giving too much away, it’s a scene from Karma’s POV—she’s the teen mom dance prodigy with the jerk boyfriend in ARROWS.

I think writing my book with dual POVs was the most challenging part because I had to make sure the voices were distinct, yet true to my writing style. Thankfully, my editor Wendy Loggia helped me pull that off. 

ELS/CEH: Now that you've officially debuted, if you could go back and tell yourself something about your publishing journey, what would it be?

MG: Pre-publication (applies ongoing): “Always be writing."
Post-publication: "You can't do it all."

ELS/CEH: The YA Buccaneers primarily caters to writers in all phases of the journey to publication -- what advice would you give those that want to publish their first YA novel?

MG: I think it’s really important to stay open through the process—don’t let one book consume all of your time for ten years. If it’s not working, move on and write another book. Join the SCBWI and attend their conferences—they invite experts who can teach you how to write. Above all, worry less and write more.

ELS/CEH: Any chance you can share what you're working on next? We'd love to hear what you have in store for us!

MG: I have a couple books in progress right now—a YA mystery about the depth of sibling love and a YA thriller based on the legend of a ghost that haunts a tourist town near Green Bay, Wisconsin.

Flash Round:

Favorite author of all-time? So hard! But from my childhood, L. M. Montgomery.
Hard cover or ebook? Hardcover by day, ebook by night.
Favorite writing snack? Coffee.
Plotter or Pantser? Plotter all the way.
Favorite 2016 Book So Far (debut or other)? Oh God. They are all so amazing. I’ll go with The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. Or can I just give you the list of 2016 books I’ve read so far? :)

Thanks so much to Melissa for stopping by!!! You can purchase your own copy of ARROWS from the following:

Indiebound 
Barnes & Noble
Amazon

Or you can enter to win a SIGNED hard cover copy of ARROWS here! Fill out the Rafflecopter form below and hang on tight -- we'll announce the winner next week!